Propaganda of the Deed: I don’t need a Liberation Front

Propaganda of the Deed.

I went and voted yesterday. I did everything I said I was going to do. Big deal. That’s an hour of my life I’ll never get back. But I suppose it was all worth it for two reasons.

First of all, what was on the ballot. I got to write in 7 people. The rest of the candidates I voted for were all Republicans or nonpartisan. Except for one Libertarian for Clerk of the Montana Supreme Court. And I suppose the ballot initiatives needed an up or down vote as well, despite their imperfections.

Second. Although those scoundrels didn’t give me an “I Voted” sticker like they usually do, I did get a free pen out of the deal.

Well, sort of. I may have actually “liberated” it from the voting booth. But before you accuse me of voter intimidation or theft, let me state a few things:

I have done this before. At the primary election. I got a black pen with a blue grip on it. I just wanted it so I could someday tell my grandchildren “I voted for Ron Paul in the 2012 Primary with this pen.” Same goes for the pen I individually reappropriated yesterday, except this one had a red grip. Yes, I wrote in Ron Paul with this pen.

There was another pen in the booth so its not like I prevented someone else from voting.

Democracy is basically theft, so I was just returning the favor. And I drove on a taxpayer-funded road on my way to the taxpayer-funded voting location (an indoctrination center), so I’m already guilty of plundering the Egyptians. What harm does one more small offense cause? Besides, I take pens from all sorts of private sector locations all the time. On the other hand, I think they encourage that. Kind of a perk for customers and free advertisement for the business.

Red pens and blue pens…You think maybe there was a subliminal message?

And no, I am not a black bloc anarchist. But I just couldn’t resist the obvious parallels. As pathetic as they are.

2 thoughts on “Propaganda of the Deed: I don’t need a Liberation Front

  1. Hank, Love your “penmanship”! It is so touching (truly) to read “so I could someday tell my grandchildren ‘I voted for Ron Paul in the 2012 primary with this pen.'” The silly video with the changing grip colors is a fun touch. Very nice. Wonderful background. Where you live? Looks like a real home, not to mention beautiful.

Any thoughts?

